Apple Cider Teriyaki Salmon

061413180059 (2)

I love salmon.  And I love the fact that Krieger’s Market is all of three blocks from my house.  It’s so easy to stop and pick up some organic salmon on the way home from work!  I also love Krieger’s because of things like this:

This has been taped to the meat/deli counter for as long as I can remember.

The Canadian cooking rule! This has been taped to the Krieger’s meat/deli counter for as long as I can remember.

Typed instructions for cooking fish, cut from a larger piece of paper and taped to the edge of the meat/deli counter.  And the instructions really work!  (Sorry, the picture is a little fuzzy – I snapped it with my cell phone while I was getting the fish.)

I always follow these instructions for salmon, and it always comes out perfectly done.  But to shake things up a bit, this time I wanted to make some kind of sauce.  I came up with a version of teriyaki sauce made with soy sauce, apple cider and buckwheat honey.  Sounds crazy, right?  Maybe.  But it was yummy!

Apple Cider Teriyaki Sauce (this made enough sauce for two 8 oz pieces of salmon)

  • 1/2 shallot, minced
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce (I used low sodium)
  • 1/3 cup apple cider
  • 1/4 cup buckwheat honey (more about buckwheat honey here)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon sesame seeds
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 scallion, chopped (to garnish)

In a small saucepan, sauté the shallots in olive oil over medium low heat until soft.  Add the soy sauce, apple cider, honey, garlic powder, salt and pepper and whisk together.  Bring to a boil, then turn the heat down to medium/medium high and let the liquid reduce until it resembles a thin glaze.  Taste it – add a pinch more salt if needed.  Stir in the sesame seeds and pour over salmon (or chicken, I suppose).  Garnish with chopped scallions and enjoy!

061413175939 (2)

Easy, right?  And since I already had the apple cider opened, I had a glass of cider with dinner.

Anyone up for a battle of wits?  (You can watch the scene from the movie here,)

030313121247 (2)030313121237 (2)

4 thoughts on “Apple Cider Teriyaki Salmon

Leave a comment