Hangover Soup

042513182323

I’d like to start by saying that I did NOT make this soup because I had a hangover.  (However, I did have a lingering headache all day that went away after I ate this…hmmmm…)

This is another recipe inspired by Smart Chefs Stay Slim, although I adjusted some proportions and used some random veggies I had hanging out in the fridge.  It’s basically a spicy broth with shrimp and greens – I can definitely understand why it would be good hangover food!

I’m going to write out the recipe as I made it, but you could easily substitute whatever greens/veggies you have on hand. It’s a great recipe for a fridge cleanout day!

Hangover Soup (makes two generous servings)

  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 heaping teaspoon Red Curry Paste
  • 1/2 teaspoon fish sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 1/2 cup leftover chicken, diced
  • 10-12 shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 1 medium carrot, sliced in thin rounds
  • 1 1/2 cups Swiss chard, chopped
  • 2 scallions, chopped
  • chopped cilantro (for garnish)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup rice noodles (soaked in warm water for 8-10 minutes) or cooked rice (if you have some handy)

042513175829

Bring chicken broth and water to a boil.  Add red curry paste, fish sauce, sugar and lime juice.  Stir.  Add chicken, garlic and carrots.  Cook for about 2 minutes – just until the carrots start to soften.

Add rice noodles, shrimp, Swiss chard, scallions, salt and pepper and cook over medium high heat until the shrimp are cooked through.  Pour the noodle soup into two large bowls, top with cilantro (if you want) and an additional squeeze of fresh lime (or a wedge of lime for garnish).  Eat and enjoy!

That’s it.  It’s that easy.

Now, I did have to go buy curry paste and fish sauce, because I don’t usually cook with those ingredients, but I am so glad that I did!  I can easily see this soup becoming a go-to after work meal.  It was spicy but light, and I felt fantastic after I ate it.  What more can you ask for?

11 thoughts on “Hangover Soup

  1. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    Melissa,
    I’ve got partially opened jars of kaffir lime leaves, Thai basil, lemongrass, and galangal (which I can’t even pronounce much less know what it is) in my fridge, bought because a friend raved about her husband’s recipe using them. Of course his recipe is “this to taste, that to taste” without watching him make it for me, my first experience was ICK! So I’m hesitant to try again, and have been looking for ways to use those opened jars.
    Now I’m thinking soup–so thanks!

    Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      That’s why I don’t like cookbooks without pictures! Sometimes it’s hard to figure out how the final product is supposed to turn out! Lemongrass and galangal (I have no idea how to pronounce it either) are two of the ingredients in the red curry paste that I used, and Thai basil sounds delicious!

      Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      It’s not really like Habachi’s soup, but I think you might like it. The broth of this soup is a lot richer and definitely more spicy!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Chicken Stir-Fry with Ramps and Asparagus | Lettuce Never Squash Our Love

Leave a comment