Spinach and Caramelized Onion Quiche

033013120024

A couple of weeks ago, I made Meghan’s Broccoli Cheddar Quiche for a Sunday brunch.  It was amazing!!

Broccoli Cheddar Quiche with strawberries, bacon and mixed greens.  I love brunch!

Broccoli Cheddar Quiche with strawberries, bacon and mixed greens. I love brunch!

When I woke up this Saturday, I thought about this amazing quiche and looked over my fridge inventory.  (Alright, alright…make that when I got out of bed this Saturday,  I woke up around 8 – late for me! – because the cats wanted breakfast, but after they got fed I spent a good two hours in bed watching Food Network.  Don’t judge me.)

So, back to the fridge!  Eggs fresh from Brunty Farms?  Check.  Milk?  Yep.  No broccoli, but spinach from the farmer’s market?  Check.  Onions?  Always.  Cheese?  Ooo…Asiago!  Nice.

Nothin' beats a farm fresh egg.

Nothin’ beats a farm fresh egg.

Caramelized onions, spinach, cheese and eggs.  How can that be bad?  Answer:  It can’t.  It was awesome.

By the time it was done, I was too hungry to make the plate pretty.  I'm lucky I remembered to take the picture!

By the time it was done, I was too hungry to make the plate pretty. I’m lucky I remembered to take the picture!

Spinach and Caramelized Onion Quiche

  • 1 Quiche crust (Meghan from Clean Eats, Fast Feets recommended this recipe – it’s fantastic and so easy!)
  • 1 T butter
  • 1 medium white onion, sliced thin
  • A big handful (probably about 2 cups) baby spinach
  • 1/4 cup grated asiago cheese
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup of milk
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 t fresh ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 t cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 t ground mustard
  • 1/2 t garlic powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Make the quiche crust (or use premade).  I made the quiche crust linked above, but I did prebake it for about 5 minutes before filling the crust.  (Thanks for the tip, Meghan!)  Put the crust aside while you work on the filling.

In a medium sauté pan over low heat, add the butter and sliced onion.  I added a pinch of salt and let the onions cook over low/medium low heat for about 30 minutes until they were nicely caramelized.

Onions pre-caramelization.

Onions pre-caramelization.

Caramelized onions - yum!

Caramelized onions – yum!

While the onions were cooking, I used a fork to whisk together the milk, eggs and spices (pinch of salt, fresh ground pepper, nutmeg, cayenne, ground mustard, garlic powder).

I mixed the milk and eggs together in the measuring cup - anything I can do to dirty less dishes is a win.

I mixed the milk and eggs together in the measuring cup – anything I can do to dirty less dishes is a win.

Once the onions were nicely caramelized, I added the spinach to the pan with the onions and covered it for about a minute – just long enough to wilt the spinach.  The spinach leaves were small and tender, so I didn’t even bother chopping them up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once the spinach was wilted but still bright green, I mixed the spinach and onions together and transferred them into the quiche crust.  I topped that with the asiago cheese and poured in the egg mixture.

I baked the quiche for about 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven, until the top was a beautiful golden brown and the eggs were cooked all through.

When it was done, it took all my willpower to let it cool – I was hungry and it smelled really good!  As soon as possible, I cut a big piece and dug in.  So yummy!  The crust was perfect, the onions were soft and sweet, the asiago cheese gave it just a little bite, and the eggs held everything together.

I can still call it breakfast if I ate it at noon, right?

This post is linked to What’s in the Box?  at InHerChucks.

12 thoughts on “Spinach and Caramelized Onion Quiche

  1. andrewsbeth

    I love quiche so much too! So many ways to make it. And, yes, great way to use up veggies.I am with Laura , I love the side of greens with it. Hadn’t had that until we went to The Blue Door. Looks great!

    Reply
  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    You add my quiche!! I think I just got a little misty eyed.
    I’m so glad you liked it and then went and made another incredible version. Quiches are so versatile, and tell me that crust isn’t ridiculously easy!! By the way, you can absolutely call it breakfast at noon. That’s when I usually eat it on weekends. I’m rarely hungry when I first wake up.

    Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      Meghan, your quiche recipe was outstanding! And the recipe for the crust – so easy and so delicious! It came out perfectly each time.

      Reply
  3. inherchucks

    I wish I had taken a look at my links earlier because I had a beautiful bunch of lettuce from last week and was seriously looking for some inspiration. This dish looks so good I might just have to sneak out to the market and buy another bunch just so I can make it. My daughter LOVES quiche and this recipe is sure to be our new favorite.

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

    Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      Thanks! I love quiche too, but I never made it at home until I found Meghan’s crust recipe. It’s so easy, but it looks really impressive – I love recipes like that!

      Reply

Leave a comment