Black Bean and Corn Salsa

As promised, I made the black bean and corn salsa tonight.  Delicious!  Here is the recipe with my substitutions in parentheses, since I didn’t have exactly what the recipe called for.  I figure this is one of those dishes that will taste good no matter what you throw in.

 

Black Bean and Corn Salsa

2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can corn, drained and rinsed  (Four ears of corn, cooked and cut from the cob)
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped (I left this out because I hate it.  Kim, you will want to use my portion)
juice of 1 lime
1/4 cup red onion, chopped small
1/2 of a red pepper, chopped small  (I used a white pepper, a green pepper, and a purple pepper that I had leftover from a veggie tray)
1/2 of a yellow pepper, chopped small
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 tablespoon vegetable oil  (I used Persian Lime olive oil from The Olive Scene)
1 jalapeño, seeded and minced
salt and pepper to taste

optional
1-3 small roma tomatoes, chopped
1 avocado, cubed  (I left this out, but never again)

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well.  Serve with tortilla chips, on chicken, fish, steak, or even just plain!

 

Chris likes the extra heat so he added this:

This entry was posted in General on by .

About Elyse

We are a group of family and friends in Northeast Ohio, embarking on our first adventures in Community Supported Agriculture. We have purchased shares in Dean's Greenhouse in Westlake, Ohio; and at Birdsong Farm in Hiram, Ohio. This blog highlights the fresh produce we receive each week, new foods we try, the cooking discoveries we make along the way, and the resulting food comas we endure, all in the name of good food and the love of family and friends.

3 thoughts on “Black Bean and Corn Salsa

  1. Melissa

    Beautiful picture! That looks great (but I’d add the cilantro!). I love salsas and I never think about adding corn – thanks for the idea!

    Reply
  2. andrewsbeth

    Looks so tasty and refreshing! I love corn and beans, sorry Melissa, no cilantro….:( Love Chris’s hot sauce jar. Glad you are back on the blog Elyse, your Aunt Bethy missed you!!

    Reply
  3. Carolyn Galizio

    I am definitely making this salsa, Elyse! Your photo makes me want to try it, and I would of course add cilantro. I am a big fan. Chris’s hot sauce jar was frightening!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

