Some of my favorite food quotes – Part 1

I’m not sure if you’re all aware of this, but I collect quotes.  Yep, that’s right.

As I’m reading, I sometimes mark pages or phrases that I really like and want to come back to.  (Yes, I sometimes write in my books.  I also fold down page corners to mark my place, and sometimes – accidentally, of course – I’ll crack the spine.  Deal with it.)

If I’m online, I tend to cut and paste quotes into random word documents (which I promptly forget about, and find months later when looking for something else that I’m sure I saved – somewhere!).

Now, to be fair, most of the time I save quotes that I think I can use for work – stuff about success, accomplishment, blah, blah, blah.  But I’ve also found some fantastic quotes about food.  I thought I would share some with you good people and see what you think!  Here we go…

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.” – Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own

“There is no love sincerer than the love of food.” – George Bernard Shaw, Man and Superman

All you need is love.  But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.” – Charles M. Schultz

“My weaknesses have always been food and men – in that order.” – Dolly Parton

“It’s absolutely unfair for women to say that guys only want one thing:  sex.  We also want food.”      – Jarod Kintz, $3.33

11 thoughts on “Some of my favorite food quotes – Part 1

  1. Carolyn Galizio

    Love, love, love! Thank you Melissa!
    I have always loved the fact that you are a literacy lovin’ girl!

    Reply
  2. theneighborboys

    Melissa, Thanks for sharing. I do the same thing when reading. I have a mini-notebook full of my favorite quotes from 20 years of reading. Not to mention the (far too many) academic books with marked passages for use in writing and teaching. Your post made me remember, though, how few novels include any scenes in which food makes an appearance. I’ll be thinking about it all night now, trying to think of a favorite novel that mentions food. If I think of one, I’ll be sure to share.

    Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      Please share if you think of anything! Here are a couple more from one of my favorite authors:

      “One should not attend even the end of the world without a good breakfast.”
      ― Robert A. Heinlein, Friday

      “Take big bites. Anything worth doing is worth overdoing.”
      ― Robert A. Heinlein, Time Enough for Love

      Reply
  3. jeffchild

    I have been accused by Tom on more than one occasion of committing book abuse…I have always broken the spine and written all over them too. I love your quotations!!

    Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      Brian accuses me of book abuse on a regular basis – mainly for the folding of the pages. (He always uses bookmarks). I say that my books aren’t abused – they’re well-loved!

      Reply
  4. andrewsbeth

    Yep, that’s my girl!!! English!! You always impress me and inspire me!! I loved your quotes. Brilliant!

    Reply
  5. Kim Galizio

    My favorite book that I own is my Grandmother’s dictionary. She would find words that she loved and write a comment, random thought or her interpretation of the meaning next to it. I will randomly be looking up a spelling (my weakness) and Monna will say hello to me on through her words.

    Reply
    1. jeffchild

      What a cool story, Kim. That’s something to keep and pass down. Talk about voice through the generations!

      Reply
  6. Jessica

    I love these quotes ! I’m going to hang a few in my kitchen.

    And regarding so-called “book-abuse”… I don’t consider a book read unless I’ve cracked the spine, bent the page corners, underlined passages, written in the margins and stuck mini post-it notes on half the pages! 🙂

    If I find any good food lines I’ll let you know!

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Some of my favorite food quotes, Part 2 | Lettuce Never Squash Our Love

Leave a Reply

