Roasting Beets!

I got beets from Wah at the Haymaker Farm Market Saturday and I just roasted them, and then chilled them to put on salad. They are so very delicious that I will tell you how to do it. It’s so easy! Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Wash the beets and then place each one on a little piece of foil. Drizzle a little olive oil over each one, fold up like a little package and place in the oven on a cookie sheet. Bake for about 45 minutes to one hour depending on how large the beets are. Let cool, then peel off the outer skin. Slice and place on Matt’s Birdsong Farms lettuce. They are just a little piece of heaven in my opinion. Kim even likes them and he doesn’t really like beets!

This entry was posted in General on by .

About carolyngalizio

Kim and I are the parents here. We've been married a long time and love to be in the kitchen together. Over the years we have become more interested in eating food that is not only delicious, but also healthy and as local as possible. Kim likes to make meat, and I like to make vegetarian dishes . Just what happens at our house! We happen to really love all of the others who write on this blog!

4 thoughts on “Roasting Beets!

  1. theneighborboys

    Beets…hmmm….well, I guess someone should eat them and enjoy them. They’re one food that I just do not like; however, my best experience with them by far was at the Galizio household on a salad.

    Reply
  2. jeffchild

    Can these be tucked in something like lasagna? I think that’s way I would also eat eggplant……if you can’t stomach it smother it with cheese and sauce, right?

    Reply
  3. carolyngalizio Post author

    I am sure that they would be good in a vegetable lasagna, but eggplant would be much better! Don’t feel bad about not liking them. It’s like Tionna with mushrooms and some people with cilantro- you just don’t like that flavor!

    When I was little everybody’s Mom served liver and onions, including my Mom. We had to eat one or two bites before we were excused, and I threw up right at the dinner table! I never had to eat liver again, and Kim and I have never served it to our boys! It would be funny if they would actually like it! We will probably never know!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

